David Glenn Wins Media Award

David Glenn, the editor of Yachting World has been recently awarded the Maritime Foundation’s Desmond Wettern Media Award for his exemplary contribution towards maritime issues. The award was presented by the First Sea Lord and Chief of Naval Staff Admiral Sir George Zambellas KCB DSC in London at an event of Institute of Directors. This award is presented to academic, broadcaster, writer or any other person who has made significant contribution to increasing the general public awareness regarding the current maritime issues of the United Kingdom. This award was created to commemorate the works of Desmond Wettern, the renowned and celebrated naval correspondent of the Daily Telegrapg who passed away in the year 1991.

The objective of the Maritime Foundation is to promote and increase awareness regarding how dependent Britain is on the sea and Wettern believed that the security and economic well being of Britain was integrally linked to the sea.

The award judges, while describing what the foundation viewed as Glenn’s ‘outstanding lifetime achievement in providing the best and most up to date yachting news’ said that Yacht World is informative, accessible and visually very attractive. The magazine maintains a heightened interest in yachting and is adept in balancing cutting edge excitement that is generated by the sport and the feats of endurance. The magazine also offers tips of yachting and cruising and also yacht reviews; all in all, the magazine offers knowledgeable and practical guidance to the readers.

David Glenn said that the opinion the award judges beautifully sum up the character of the magazine. He further said that he felt extremely honored and elated to win this prestigious award.

Other award winners included Rose George for her book Deep Sea and Foreign Going  Mountbatten Maritime Award, Hugh Fearnley-Whittingstall and Keo Films for the Channel 4 television series Hugh’s Fish Fight (Donald Gosling Broadcast Award), Type-23 frigate HMS Monmouth (Desmond Wettern Fleet Award for the best media contribution from a naval ship, submarine, RN air squadron or Royal Marine unit) and Andrew Linington, editor of Nautilus Telegraph (Maritime Fellowship Award).